The Dolphin Award, instituted in 1980, is given by the President to select faculty, staff, and students in recognition of their contribution and achievements. The awards are bestowed annually and formally presented on the day of the College's Commencement.

For all Dolphin Awards, the committee will consider length of service, a sustained contribution over many years, or an exceptional recent contribution.

A detailed statement of the achievements of the candidate should support the nominations. Nominators must provide a written statement (**see attached form**) outlining the primary contributions and provide supporting documentation that is relevant to the nomination category.

In all cases, any records related to personnel information (i.e.; salary information or an official review by the candidate's supervisor) should not be included in the nomination package.

Where to Send Nominations

Please email your nomination materials to the attention of <u>DolphinAward@csi.cuny.edu</u> (email) by April 17 at 5:00 p.m. If you have any questions, please contact <u>DolphinAward@csi.cuny.edu</u>.

I. Award Categories and Suggested Documents

- 1. Outstanding Scholarly Achievement by a Member of the Full-Time Faculty (includes, teaching, library, and student services faculty). Documents to be included with nomination: Current curriculum vitae and letters of support from colleagues and/or peers.
- 2. Outstanding Teaching by a Member of the Full-Time Faculty (includes only teaching faculty). Documents to be included with nomination: Current curriculum vitae, letters of support from colleagues, peers, students, and/or alumni and peer/student evaluations. (Peer or student evaluations can be sent only by permission of the candidate.)

- 3. Outstanding Service and Contribution to the College by a Member of the Full-Time Faculty. Documents to be included with nomination: Current curriculum vitae and letters of support from colleagues and/or peers.
- 4. Outstanding Teaching by a Member of the Adjunct Faculty (includes only teaching faculty). Documents to be included with nomination: Current curriculum vitae, letters of support from colleagues, peers, students, and/or alumni and peer/student evaluations. (Peer or student evaluations can be sent only by permission of the candidate.) Please note that the individual who has been nominated must have taught as an adjunct in the 2021-2022 academic years.
- 5. Outstanding Service and Contribution to the College by a Member of the Non-Teaching Instructional Staff in the HEO Title. Documents to be included with nomination: Letters from supervisors and/or colleagues.
- 6. Outstanding Service and Contribution to the College by a Member of the Non-Teaching Instructional Staff in Specialist Titles (CLT, OIT, Finance, etc.). Documents to be included with nomination: Letters from supervisors and/or colleagues.
- 7. Outstanding Service and Contribution to the College by a Member of a Full-Time Non-Instructional Staff in Clerical Functions. Documents to be included with nomination: Letters from supervisors and/or colleagues.
- 8. Outstanding Service and Contribution to the College by a Member of the Non-Instructional Staff in Maintenance, Operations, Security. Documents to be included with nomination: Letters from supervisors and/or colleagues.
- 9. Outstanding Service and Contribution to the College by a Member of the Part-Time
 - *Non-Teaching Staff.* Documents to be included with nomination: Letters from supervisors and/or colleagues.
- 10. Outstanding Service and Contribution to the College by a Currently Enrolled Student. The student must be in good standing. Documents to be included with nomination: Letters from faculty, staff members, and/or students.
- 11. Agent of Change toward Diversity, Equity, Inclusivity, and Social Justice by Members of the College Community (faculty, staff, students, groups, offices, teams, etc.). Two awards: One individual and one team/group award. Documents to be included with nomination: Letters of support from colleagues, peers, students, and/or alumni. Letters of support should include qualitative and/or quantitative evidence that the nominated community members (individuals and groups) have significantly furthered CSI's mission through any the following:
 - · Creating/supporting/contributing to a campus climate that encourages and supports the expression of diverse perspectives, ways of being, and belonging;
 - · Fostering the academic/personal success of groups that have been underserved and underrepresented in higher education;
 - · Pursuing equitable, anti-racist pedagogies in classrooms and in student support services to help close equity gaps;

- · Preserving the well-being among CSI students, faculty and staff by helping to prevent harassment, bullying, and discrimination;
- · Significantly contributing to the recruitment and retention of diverse faculty, staff, and/or students; and
- Enriching the campus identity by helping to elevate the diverse voices and experiences of its community members.

II. Eligibility for Nomination

All active members of the College faculty and staff, including those on tax levy and non-tax levy payrolls working at the College, and current students are eligible for nomination. Self-nominations are discouraged.

Past award recipients are eligible for nomination in categories other than the one(s) in which the award was previously conferred. Members of the selection committee are not eligible for nomination.

III. 2023 Dolphin Awards Committee

The Dolphin Awards Committee will be co-chaired by College Council Chair Kenneth Gold, and Faculty Senate Chair Jane Marcus-Delgado. Professors Gold and Marcus-Delgado will serve the committee in an *ex officio* capacity (without votes).

Voting Members:

Michael Steiper – Interim Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs (or designee)

Michel Hodge – Vice President for Student Affairs and Strategic Initiatives (or designee)

Robert Wallace – Interim Vice President for Economic Development, Continuing Studies, and Government Relations (or designee)

Carlos Serrano – Assistant Vice President for Finance and Budget (or designee)

Patty Kahn – Assistant Vice President for Information Technology Services (or designee)

Keith Pisons – Interim Director of Facilities Management, Planning, and Operations (or designee)

Jonathan Wesley – Executive Chief Diversity Officer (or designee)

Simone Wegge – Professor, Economics

Anat Niv-Solomon – Associate Professor, Political Science & Global Affairs

Gerry Milligan -- Professor, World Languages and Literatures

Maxwell Velikodny – Student (Alumnus)

Andrew Colbeck - College Lab Tech, Accounting & Finance

Louis Rotondo – Adjunct Lecturer, Psychology

Veronica DiMeglio – Higher Education Officer, Curriculum Coordinator, Academic Affairs

Frank Salzillo – Senior Stationary Engineer, Buildings & Grounds/Facilities

Donna Gildea – Student Life Andrey Parkhomenko – College Assistant, Recruitment & Admissions Katie Cumiskey - Professor, Psychology

Ex officio without vote:

Susan Holak – Dean, Lucille & Jay Chazanoff School of Business Sarolta Takacs – Dean, Division of Humanities and Social Sciences Ralf Peetz – Interim Dean of Science and Technology Burnett Joiner – Interim Dean of Education H. Michael Dreher – Interim Dean of Health Sciences Jessica Collura -- Chief of Staff

Following the deliberations, the committee will submit its recommendations to the President for his decision.