The Office of the Borough President presents the Young Writers Showcase tonight, April 17, 2015, at 7:00pm in the College of Staten Island’s Center for the Arts.

Join CSI President Dr. William J. Fritz, co-hosts James S. Oddo, Staten Island Borough President, and Sukana Krishnan, WPIX 11 Anchorwoman, along with special guests Kirya Traber, 2014-2015 Lincoln Center Education Artist Fellow, and Jay Miller, Writer/Comedy Producer for Impractical Jokers, for a very special evening celebrating 27 young writers who submitted original works.

“Just as athletic, academic, and performing arts achievements are recognized with public tributes, the Young Writers Roundtablewill shine a light on student writers from Staten Island.” –James Oddo

The Showcase began with the Young Writers Roundtable that was formed by Borough President James Oddo last fall to encourage the development of Staten Island’s young writers. Roundtable[ sessions were held in November and December 2014. More than students, selected by the Borough’s high schools and colleges, met with professional novelists, playwrights, poets, and editors at Borough Hall. Borough President Oddo moderated a lively discussion, during which the students asked questions and learned some wonderful tips from our professional writers. The students also shared time with each other, getting to know other young wordsmiths from across the Borough.

CSI Professors who attended the Roundtables and helped mentor the students include:

•           Ava Chin, Columnist, Author

•           Cate Marvin, Poet

•           Lee Papa, Professor of Drama and Playwriting

•           Ira Shor, Professor of Rhetoric and Composition

•           Patricia Smith, Poet, Essayist


Professional writers and editors who attended the Roundtables and helped mentor the students include:

•         Ron Barrett, Illustrator of Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs

•         John Ficarra, Executive Editor of Mad Magazine

•         Ian Frazier, staff writer at The New Yorker

•         Ava Chin, Columnist, Author, and Professor at CSI

•         Rob Hart, Author and Associate Publisher at Mysterious Press

•         Tom Hoeler, Editorial Assistant at Del Ray Books

•         Mike Lane, Staten Island Resident and Author of The Magic Shop Book Series

•         Michael Mejias, Playwright and Literary Agent

•         Lois Metzger, Young Adult Novelist

•         Lee Papa, Professor of Drama and Playwriting at CSI

•         Joe Simonelli, Staten Island Resident and Playwright

•         Patricia Smith, Poet, Essayist, and Professor at CSI

•         Kirya Traber, Writer, Performer, and a Fellow at Lincoln Center

•         Anne Marie Dooling, Author and Journalist

•         Joseph Brownfield, Msgr. Farrell High School

•         Evelin Caballero, Port Richmond High School

•         Nicholas Cirrone, St. Joseph by-the-Sea

•         Maria Conte, St. Joseph Hill

•         Jason Contino, Michael J. Petrides

•         Emily Cooke, St. Joseph Hill

•         Claire Crane, Staten Island Academy

•         Emilie Rose Crupi, Moore Catholic High School

•         Trystan D’Amico, Moore Catholic High School

•         Victoria DeAngelis, Susan E. Wagner High School

•         Matthew Ferrera, Susan E. Wagner High School

•         Jane Hagemann, Susan E. Wagner High School

•         Deirdre Hansalik, Susan E. Wagner High School

•         Kyle Hofmann, St. Joseph by-the-Sea

•         Sylke T. Lesinski, St. Johns University

•         Kira Marshal, St. Joseph by-the-Sea

•         Emma Master, Staten Island Academy

•         Emily Orengo, Ralph McKee CTE High School

•         Sarha Primiano, Moore Catholic High School

•         Lucy Primiano, Staten Island Technical High School

•         Kara Roche, Notre Dame Academy

•         Thomas Scarcella, Wagner College

•         Athena Sher, St. Joseph by-the-Sea

•         Austin Shutov, Staten Island Technical High Schoo

•           Kristen Tan, Notre Dame Academy

•           Salvatore Volpe, Msgr. Farrell High School

•           Jenna Zerino, Michael J. Petrides