Kansas City, MO | The National Association of Basketball Coaches released their Men’s Basketball All-District teams this morning, and on the list of first-team All-Atlantic honorees was the College of Staten Island’s Christian Taylor.  For Taylor, the recognition from the NABC is the first of his career, and comes on the heels of a tremendous junior season that saw him take home CUNYAC Player of the Year honors.

Selected by member coaches of the NABC and NCAA Division III, there are a total of eight districts that receive first and second-team laurels.  Atlantic region honorees consist of the CUNYAC, NJAC, Skyline, Atlantic East, and MAC conferences, and Taylor was joined by Baruch College’s Andre Harris, who was named to the second-team, as CUNYAC representatives.

“I am honored to receive this award from NABC,” said Taylor.  “Knowing that the coaches around the leagues vote on it makes it a big honor.  I have to thank my teammates and my coaching staff for everything they have done to help me achieve this honor.”

Taylor was CSI’s leader in a host of categories in 2018-19, helping lead the Dolphins to a 17-10 campaign and a return trip to the conference’s title game.  Taylor started all 27 Dolphins’ games, collecting a grand total of 516 points, good for a team-leading 19.1 points per game.  The guard also garnered team highs in assists (108), steals (61), and free-throws (116-163, 71.2%).  Taylor also finished second on the squad in rebounding, averaging a robust 6.1 per game while shooting better than 50% from the floor (191-379).

A first-time CUNYAC All-Star his sophomore season, Taylor was selected as Player of the Year in the CUNYAC in 2018-19.  He eclipsed 1,000 career points during the year and his 1,099 career markers currently stands 27th all-time in CSI career history.

Sam Toney from New Jersey City University was named the Atlantic All-District Player of the Year, while Rowan University’s Joe Crispin was named Coach of the Year.

For a complete list of NABC honorees, click HERE.  The organization will announce their All-America teams later this week.