The summer four-day workweek program will be in effect for the 2020 season from Monday, June 22, 2020 through Friday, Aug. 7, 2020. Practices for the workweek, including Independence Day, shall be the same as in the preceding years. The Independence Day holiday will be observed on Friday, July 3, 2020; during that week, staff shall have four regular un-extended workdays on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.

The workday for full-time clerical, administrative, and non-teaching instructional staff employees is 8¾ hours plus an additional 45 minutes for lunch from Monday through Thursday (for example, shift starts at 8:00am and ends at 5:30pm, Monday through Thursday with Friday off).

Employees who do not wish or are unable to work the extended schedule shall be given the option of working four regular days (for example, shift starts at 9:00am and ends at 5:00pm, Monday through Thursday) and charge the fifth day (Friday) to annual leave. All such requests shall be submitted to using the online form, with Supervisor’s approval, prior to Monday, June 15. Employees must have an annual leave balance of six days in order to be eligible to waive the summer hour work schedule.

As a reminder, all Public Safety, Buildings and Grounds, and 220 Titles are exempt from participating and will remain on their normal Monday through Sunday shifts.

By Manuela Alongi