CFA Hosts Seventh Annual NY International Choreographers Festival

The Center for the Arts (CFA) at the College of Staten Island (CSI) opens its 2007-2008 season, “Island Culture: Near and Far,” with the Seventh Annual New York International Choreographers Festival, produced by the Staten Island Ballet (SIB), on Saturday, September 15, at 8:00pm and Sunday, September 16 at 3:00pm.

Tickets are FREE, but reservations are recommended and can be made only in person, by phone, or by mail through the CFA Box Office. The CFA and its box office are located on the CSI campus at 2800 Victory Boulevard, Building 1P, Room 113, in Staten Island. CFA Box Office hours are Monday through Friday, 9:00am to 4:00pm; Saturday, noon to 3:00pm. For reservations/info, call 718-982-ARTS (2787).

The Seventh Annual International Choreographers Festival features six dance debuts, from the classical to contemporary, and live South African drumming and Highland piper music. Choreographers include such emerging to established artists as Royce Zackery, David Fernandez, Benjamin Briones, Sduduzo Ka-Mbili, and Ellen Tharp. The Festival program will be performed by 26 dance artists drawn from such companies as Ferndance, the American Ballet Theatre, Juxtapower South African Song and Dance, and the Staten Island Ballet.

The New York International Choreographers Festival is a project of the SIB, which celebrates its 14th year under the direction of artistic director and founder, Ellen Tharp. In addition to the Festival, the SIB presents new work by today’s choreographers performed by professional dancers in a variety of programs around Staten Island, offers a professional school of the ballet arts at its Center in the Farm Colony-Seaview Historic District of Staten Island, and manages a charitable ticket program for Staten Island residents. The Festival is made possible with funding from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs and the Friends of Staten Island Ballet.

This project is the first of 25 projects that comprise “Island Culture: Near and Far,” the 2007-2008 season at the CSI Center for the Arts. The CFA is easily reached by car from I-278, campus parking lots 1 and 2 are recommended. By MTA, take the S62, 61, 93, 53, and the Staten Island Ferry with connections to the bus.

The CSI Center for the Arts 2007-2008 Season is supported, in part, with funds from the Richmond County Savings Foundation; a gift by the Carnegie Corporation (made possible by an anonymous donor); the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs; the Office of the Borough President, Hon. James P. Molinaro; Dr. Michael Shugrue; the National Dance Project of the New England Foundation for the Arts; Time Warner Cable; the Staten Island Rotary Foundation; the College of Staten Island; and by our many business and individual patrons.

“Island Culture: Near and Far,” CSI Center for the Arts 2007-2008 Season
continues with:

Thursday, September 27, 7:30pm Spotlight Japan Project

Wednesday, October 3, 7:30pm The Tabu Project

Saturday, October 6, 8:00pm A Beautiful Memory:
A Mother and Her
Sons against the Mafia

Saturday, October 13, 8:00pm Pete Michaels’ New
Vaudeville

Monday, October 14, 7:30pm New York Philharmonic
Brass Ensemble

Sunday, October 21, noon-6:30pm Best of the New York
International Children’s
Film Festival

Saturday, October 27, 8:00pm Three Sisters from Queens

Sunday, October 28, 3:00pm Cenicienta/Cinderella

Saturday, November 17, 8:00pm I-Land

Saturday, December 1, 8:00pm I take your hand in mine

Saturday, December 8, 8:00pm Ru Sanda Rae (Beauty,
Moon, Night)

Sunday, February 3, noon-6:30pm Best of the New York
International Children’s
Film Festival

Saturday, February 9, 8:00pm Staten Island: Alive in
Wonderland

Saturday, February 23, 8:00pm Two Accordions with
Attitude

Saturday, March 1, 8:00pm Eileen Ivers & Immigrant
Soul

Sunday, March 9, 3:00pm Drum Folk

Saturday, March 15, 8:00pm An Evening of Duets

Friday, March 29, 8:00pm AXIS Dance Company

Sunday, April 6, 3:00pm This American Life

Saturday, April 12, 8:00pm Vernon Reid

Saturday, April 19, 8:00pm Colin Hay

Saturday, May 3, 3:00pm Emilio and the Enchanted
Cow

Saturday, May 17, 3:00pm The Musical Adventures of
Flat Stanley

CSI Center for the Arts: 718-982-ARTS or www.cfashows.com

Leave a Reply