Samuel Obisanya earned CUNYAC/US Army Rookie of the Year honors.

CUNYAC/US Army All Star honors were announced recently and Dolphin runners were amongst the winners.

Men’s Cross Country Freshman, Samuel Obisanya earned the highest honor of all Dolphin All Stars as he was named CUNYAC/US Army “Rookie of the Year”. Obisanya earned CUNYAC Rookie of the week twice this season and frequently improved his times throughout the season. In the CUNYAC Championship Obisanya placed 2nd amongst Dolphin runners and 5th overall with a time of 29.26.

Sophomores, Andrew Pate and Michael Gratkowski as well as freshman, Keith Grossman also received honors. Gratkowski received the “Sportsmanship Award”, given to the athlete who demonstrates the ideals and graciousness of sportsmanship. “Mike is the type of athlete who inspires his teammates and puts the team first and other athletes first”, said CSI Head Coach Robert Russo. Russo also pointed out a race this past year where Gratkowski had a competitor thank him for encouraging him to finish a race.

Pate and Grossman both took home All Star honors. Pate frequently topped all CSI runners at meets and was also named CSI’s Athlete of the Month for October. He earned 4th place in the CUNYAC Championship, which helped the Dolphins to a second place finish.

Grossman placed second at the Men’s 8K Brooklyn/CSI dual meet and 9th at the York College Invitational.

On the Women’s side, freshman, Victoria Barry earned All Star honors. Barry placed first amongst CSI runners in every meet this season. Her best showings were at the York Invitational where she finished 12th amongst all runners and at the CUNYAC Championship when she finished the race in a season’s best 27:10.

Hunter College’s John Aiken and Ed Zarowin won “Player of the Year” and “Coach of the Year” respectively on the Men’s side. While on the women’s side, Hunter’s Lizzy Mahoney won “Player of the Year” and John Jay’s Brooke King won “Rookie of the Year”. Baruch’s Ariadne Mui and Tracy Dimaculangan won “Coach of the Year” and the “Sportsmanship Award”.