On Saturday, Dec. 3, 2016, the CSI Foundation hosted the Seventh Annual Celestial Ball in celebration of the College’s 60th Anniversary. Thank you for being a part of this very special gala, whose history as the Starlight Ball began in the earliest years of Staten Island Community College, and became a major fundraiser beginning in 1978 thanks to the Friends of CSI, when it was co-chaired by Ephraim Bodine and Norma D’Arrigo.

By all measures, this year was a great success, thanks to the contributions of MANY. We tied last year’s record numbers of attendees and tickets sold, and net proceeds amounted to approximately $120,000, nearly a 20% increase over last year.

Special thanks to all who supported the Ball, especially our faculty and staff, Deans, and Chairs.

The President’s Cabinet and Student Government were Diamond Sponsors, with the CSI Foundation Board and President and Bonnie Fritz joining as Silver Sponsors. There was 100% participation from the Foundation Board, Cabinet, and the Dean’s Council.

Gold-level sponsors include the Auxiliary Services Corporation, which doubled its commitment this year, American Campus Communities, and the CSI Alumni Association. Silver-level sponsors include the Center for Global Engagement, the on-campus Barnes & Noble College Bookstore, and Hillel at CSI, which also doubled their support this year.

We are deeply grateful and appreciative of this vital support.

The work of the Celestial Ball Committee and its Chair Marilyn Caselli was invaluable, along with the staff of the Institutional Advancement and External Affairs Division. I offer a special shout out to Oswaldo Peña, Bonnie Fritz, Bob Cutrona, Tom Scarangello, Manny Gonzalez, and Jennifer Straniere, for all of their coordination and quality assurance in executing an elegant and beautiful event. Of course, all the staff in Repro Services and Design Services are due thanks for their contributions.

Thank you to our very own Presidential Medal Honoree Dr. Michael Kress, and a very special thanks to The Friends of CSI, represented by Carole Gervasi, Norma D’Arrigo, and Anthony DeFazio, for their 40 years of service and commitment to the College. CSI Foundation Board Member Patrick McDermott and community activist Beatrice Victor were also honored with the President’s Medal.

I also extend our gratitude  to the President’s Cabinet and the Provost’s Council, especially the leadership of President Fritz.

It was indeed a very special night, highlighted by the 34 students in attendance, and its success would not have been possible without the work of so many.

Please take to moment to view the online photo gallery.

Happy New Year!